Johnstown District Libraries

A district full of capability.

The State of Pennsylvania is divided by Commonwealth Libraries into 29 geographic regions called districts. Within each district, the Deputy Secretary and Commissioner for Libraries designates one strong library as the District Library Center. That library is then expected to provide supplementary library services to all local libraries within the district, make its resources available without charge to all residents of the district, coordinate the services of all local libraries, and exchange, provide and contract for library services with other district library centers. All public libraries in the state are served by one of 29 District Library Centers. Our district is named the Johnstown District and serves the libraries in Cambria, Indiana, and Somerset counties.